Earth Hour 2013

What were you doing for Earth Hour this year? I thought I’d do my bit and turn off the lights (and my heating actually too, despite the snow!) to help our mother earth, and it provided a nice inspirational canvas to take a few photographs while I prepared supper.

Being a photographer, I tend to see inspiration and a picture in just about everything, I shape them, I use the light, I see angles and stories, so candlelight and the quotidien provided a fun hour-long story for me.  So, what did I shoot? I took eight photos, as I prepared food, some of it dangerous as it involved a knife, long flighty hair (mine not a random hippy boyfriend) and some candles…. (captions beneath each photo)

My mother bought me a German tin with little windows in for Christmas, so I put a candle in. You can imagine little Dickensian characters huddling from the cold inside, by candlelight.

My mother bought me a German tin with little windows in for Christmas, so I put a candle in. You can imagine little Dickensian characters huddling from the cold inside, by candlelight.

Deciding what to cook, the poor old artichoke rolled out of the fridge, AGAIN.. I put it on top of the cooker so I could actually focus on it (that's where the candles were!) but got distracted by its reflection, which made a thing which is traditionally quite ugly, morph into a docking station for a Sci-fi movie, or maybe an Elvin tree stump...

Deciding what to cook, the poor old celeriac rolled out of the fridge, AGAIN.. I put it on top of the cooker so I could actually focus on it (that’s where the candles were!) but got distracted by its reflection, which made a thing which is traditionally quite ugly, morph into a docking station for a Sci-fi movie, or maybe an Elvin tree stump…

So, I decided on a quick vegetarian stir-fry. Carrots, it turns out, prove scary to shop in the half light.... Don't try this at home.. oh, I just did....

So, I decided on a quick vegetarian stir-fry. Carrots, it turns out, prove scary to chop in the half light…. Don’t try this at home.. oh, I just did….

An errant chili clung to the side of the jar as I fished three of them out... reminded me of a little worm, or a slug... It's amazing what the half-light does to one's imagination!

An errant chili clung to the side of the jar as I fished three of them out… reminded me of a little worm, or a slug… It’s amazing what the half-light does to one’s imagination!

So, everything in, and the steam from the rice cast a theatrical cloud across the mess in the pan!

So, everything in, and the steam from the rice cast a theatrical cloud across the mess in the pan!

Once plonked on the plate, I decided on a little grated cheese.... inside the grater, this gorgeous image came to light... I love this shot. The curly tails of the cheese cascading like fairy hair (or creeping alien tendrils) towards it's own reflection....

Once plonked on the plate, I decided on a little grated cheese…. inside the grater, this gorgeous image came to light… I love this shot. The curly tails of the cheese cascading like fairy hair (or creeping alien tendrils) towards it’s own reflection….

So, meal prepared and swiftly demolished.... candlelight wouldn't be complete without a glass of wine... so the bottle of Marsala which was still there from last week's fun and games found it's way into my glass.....

So, meal prepared and swiftly demolished…. candlelight wouldn’t be complete without a glass of wine… so the bottle of Marsala which was still there from last week’s fun and games found it’s way into my glass…..

Happy Earth Hour, everyone, remember, if you missed it this year, maybe try it one evening, turn off your lights, put on some candles or just snoodle up in the dark (with a loved one, or your cushion if that's more reliable!!). Doing something different, is always inspirational. It's what makes life worth living. It's what bring the magic into your life, if you are stuck doing the norm, stop and just do something different for  day. Earth Hour, makes us appreciate what we have, and also rethink our overuse of energy. So for a litle while after you read this, maybe think what you could do on a longer term basis and maybe see if you an make a difference to someone around you? Big Mother Earth hug, everyone. If we respect our gorgeously beautiful planet, it will look after us and our kids for a little longer....

Happy Earth Hour, everyone, remember, if you missed it this year, maybe try it one evening, turn off your lights, put on some candles or just snoodle up in the dark (with a loved one, or your cushion if that’s more reliable!!).
Doing something different, is always inspirational. It’s what makes life worth living. It’s what brings the magic into your life, if you are stuck doing the norm, stop and just do something different for day. Participating in “Earth Hour” makes us appreciate what we have, and also rethink our overuse of energy. So for a little while after you read this, maybe think what you could do on a longer term basis and maybe see if you can make a difference to someone around you? Big Mother Earth hug, everyone. If we respect our gorgeously beautiful planet, it will look after us and our kids for a little longer….

 

 

 

 

 

 

Earth Hour is an initiative launched by World Wildlife Fund to help raises awareness of man’s impact on our earth, and really to highlight our consumerism. London was “switched off”, the Thames playing focus host to the hour too. For more information have a look at: http://www.earthhour.org/  and http://worldwildlife.org/pages/earth-hour Not least it’s a great excuse to do something different, and rethink a bit of what we consume. Now, where did I put those

This entry was published on March 23, 2013 at 10:30 pm. It’s filed under arts, Comment, Editorial, Food, London, Photography, The Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Earth Hour 2013

  1. Great images. I particularly enjoyed the “knife with carrots” photo.

  2. Stefan Marty on said:

    Fantastic record of a beautiful countryside

Leave a Reply

