You looking at me?


I’m a people watcher, are you? If I have copy to write or if I’m seeking some creative inspiration I go sit in a cafe, notebook in hand, espresso steaming on the table and I look out. I look out at all the people passing, at the lives, the decisions, the histories… all walking in their own slip-streams.

What makes me tick the way I do, or you take the path you did, may all be pre-ordained by the fates, or it may be shaped by our social landscape… there are many possible answers and I’m not really wanting to debate that here!

What I am fascinated by, is how our life’s experience throws its patina across our faces, across our physique, how we stand, how we dress, what we chose to dance to, all makes us who we are and it’s these million permutations which gives our appearance it’s own unique finger-print. Do you not think?
Being able to capture something of this in just a single image, the early Magnum photographers revolutionised this reportage style and remains an inspiration to me.

This entry was published on October 30, 2009 at 6:32 pm. It’s filed under people, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

